The Stead Community Award

The Council awards the Stead Community Award on an annual basis.

The award

Photo by Mike Cutler

The Award

The Stead Community Award  was set up by the sons of Albert and Hilda Stead some years ago after the death of their mother, Hilda.  The family had lived in Cherry Willingham for 55 years and their sons wanted their name to continue in the village.  Both Bert & Hilda had been very involved with village activities and Bert had been a Parish Councillor for a long time and also served as Chairman for two terms.  

The criteria needed before consideration is given to nominees 

  1.  They have to live in the village
  2.  They have to contribute towards t
he community.

It is
up to residents to nominate people and then nominations are discussed in camera by the Council and a vote taken. We usually ask for nominations in the January CW News.

The recipient gets a trophy and certificate.  The trophy has to be returned at the end of the year, but the recipient's name is displayed on the board in the Millennium Hall for posterity.  Recipients to date are:

2019 Alan Drakes
2018 Zena Henry
2017 Nigel Hooper
2016 Ken Shackleton
2015 Cilla Lamerton
2014 Mark Shepherd
2012 Martin Brammer
2011 Valerie Wright
2010 Betti Coleman
2009 Peggy Drakes
2008 Roy Bowser
2007 Rachel Booth
2006 Sam Pearson
2005 Eric Brocklesby
2004 Margaret Coates