The Tempest Arms & The Bell Inn

The Viking Way passes through Coleby on its 235km (147m) journey from the Humber to Rutland Water. Walkers can stop for a while to explore the village or sample the hospitality of the local pubs. Although Coleby no longer has shops or a Post Office it is fortunate to have retained its two public houses.

The Tempest Arms

The first licensee of the Tempest Arms was farmer Samuel Auckland who opened up a beershop around 1840 and brewed his own beer on the premises. Originally known as ‘The Board’, the beerhouse eventually became a licensed inn called ‘The Brewers Arms’. However, in 1888, it was renamed ‘The Tempest Arms’ in deference to the Tempest family, owners of the Coleby Estate. The Tempest Arms is situated at the south end of the High Street.

The tempest arms, coleby

The Tempest Arms

The Bell Inn

The  Bell Inn was also first opened as a beershop around the middle of the 19th century and occupied just one small cottage at the western end of its present premises. The Bell also went on to obtain a full licence and, during the twentieth century, extended into two adjoining cottages. The Bell Inn is situated in Far Lane and offers a small amount of bed and breakfast accommodation.

 

The Bell Inn