Coningsby War Memorial

Coningsby  -  The War Memorial

The War Memorial was built by Thomas Kent of Boston at a cost of £150.  It is made of broken Aberdeen red granite on a Portland stone base.  The broken column depicts the broken lives of so many young men and women.   The Dedication Ceremony was performed by  Reverend Henry Felix, Church of England Rector in September 1921.  The hymns were "Let Saints On Earth"  and  "O God Our Help In Ages Past" followed by the National Anthem.      Captain S V Hotchkin MP unveiled the memorial.

The Chairman of Coningsby Parish Council at that  time was Councillor Guy Simple. 

The Inscription on the Memorial reads as follows:
This Monument is erected by the parishioners of Coningsby in loving and grateful memory of all whose names are recorded
below and who gave their lives in the Great War of 1914 to 1918.

William Adams
Joseph Brookes
James Arthur Cobb
Edward Inman Codd
Lionel Clifton (missing)
Sydney Grant
Edward Barker Kettle
Arthur Edwin Lane
      Walter Lee       
Edwin Lamyman
Fred Pick
Alfred Rowell
Fred Pick
John William Wilkinson
Charles Herbert Ward
John T E Wright

Who made the supreme sacrifice in the second World War of 1939 to 1945 and in gratitude for the lives spared.

P Belton
K Belton
W A Bettison
F E Brown
J Davis   
N Hutton
H V Mayfield
L Porter