Parish Councillors

Eagle and Swinethorpe Parish Council

is a non-political elected body forming the third tier of Local Government.

The Parish Council has the same status as a Town or City Council, and both are sometimes knows as “Local Councils”. As Councillors, we represent you, the elector and resident in the Parish.

The Council comprises nine members, acting rather like the Board of a Company. All Councillors work on a voluntary basis.  No Councillor has the right to act individually; the authority of the Council comes from the body as a whole.  The Clerk, as a Proper Officer of the Council in law has a number of specific duties and responsibilities in executing the resolutions of the Council and advising on points of law and procedure.

The Council are the Custodian Trustees of the Playing Field, which is run by The Playing Field Committee.

We also have a number of duties that are set out in law.

Parish Council Members

  • Cllr Martyn Jackson (Chairman)
  • Cllr Nigel Bottom (Vice Chairman)
  • Cllr Katy Thomas
  • Cllr Christine Patty
  • Cllr Dawn Warnock
  • Cllr Alan Parker
  • Cllr Michael Chennells
  • Cllr Jane Wallis
  • Cllr Colin Campbell

Clerk: Rachel Popplewell Tel: 07899 369125