The Village

Photograph of holy trinity parish church, gedney hill

Photo byColette Coleman

The 14th Century Church has the unique feature of wooden supporting pillars giving an air of tranquillity.  The Clock in the Tower is in excellent working order which celebrated its centenary in 2002, and situated in the Churchyard at the South side is a rather beautiful Cedar of Lebanon Tree.

There is a Parish Cemetery behind the Church for details contact Parish clerk.

Across the road is the Village shop/Post Office established 120 years ago with a seven day week opening

Carrying on Northward up the Village is the Memorial Hall originally built in 1921, it was demolished and rebuilt in 2001 complete with new plaques displaying the names of the fallen in two World Wars. The Hall is available for functions small and large with facilities for the deaf by way of a hearing loop. Other entertainment venues are welcome. .

In the Village there is an excellent Church of England Primary School for 5 - 11  year olds.  The Headmistress is Alison Buddle who can be contacted for more information re curriculums etc.

There is also an eighteen hole golf course with restaurant facilities for golfers and their guest.

In the village there are several horticultural flower growers with associated businesses and during the Seasons there are fields of flowers making the Village well worth a visit and a wander.