About Halton Holegate
Halton Holegate is a picturesque village situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds. It lies 1.5 miles from the small market town of Spilsby, 18 miles from the larger town of Boston, 11 miles from Skegness and 34 miles from Lincoln.
The name of Halton Holegate is from the old Scandinavian Halh + Tun Holr + Gata or "farmstead in a nook of a road in a hollow." The Village is listed in the 1086 Doomesday Book simply as Haltun. From the turn of the 20th century the name of the village appears to have changed to the current Halton Holegate in an apparent effort to emphasise the "hollow." The "hollow way" cuts through the ridge of green sandstone and carries the B1195 to Firsby and Wainfleet. There was a wooden bridge that spanned the "hollow way" and gave the residents of the Rectory quick access to St Andrew's Church. Known by locals as "Parson's Bridge," it was removed in 1956.
Renowned poet Alfred Lord Tennyson was a frequent visitor to the Rectory during the time he lived at Somersby.
The Focal community points of the village are:
- The Methodist Chapel: Built in 1837 with an adjoining schoolroom added in 1937, it hosts many community activites.
- St.Andrews Church: Proudly overseeing the village from the time of the Doomesday Book, the building as it stands today was built between 1350 and 1400.
- Halton Holegate Church of England Primary School: A National School was built in 1847 and the school house was added in1864.
- The Bell Inn: A 16th century pub, with connections to the RAF's 44 and 207 squadrons which were based nearby at RAF Spilsby during the Second World War.