The Parish Council

The Parish Council represents and serves the whole community and is responsible for the services it provides.  Following consultation with parishioners (e.g. via the Parish Plan, Annual Parish Meeting etc.), it establishes policies for action and decides how money will be raised and spent on behalf of the community.  It is responsible for spending the money raised lawfully and without risk and for achieving the best value for money.

The responsibilities of the Parish Council, in common with all other Parish Councils in the country, include:-

  • Footway lighting;
  • Footpaths;
  • Public seats;
  • Indoor and outdoor recreational facilities;
  • Playing fields, Parks and open spaces;
  • War memorial.

The Parish Council maintains the grassed areas of the roadside verges and footpaths within the Parish on behalf of Lincolnshire County Council and is in partnership with South Kesteven District Council to provide a community warden, who can be seen picking up litter from our streets.

The Parish Council is made up of 11 elected Councillors, one of whom is chosen as Chairman during the Council's Annual Meeting.  It is served by the Clerk, Mrs Jane Evans, who implements its decisions and provides administrative and management support for its activities.


The detailed Lincolnshire County Council Flood Report has now been received and is attached for your information. Paper copies can be available upon request via the Parish Clerk. 

LCC have stressed that the report is an internal document and not a technical appraisal of the flood risk in Long Bennington or mitigation of that risk, and is not written with publication in mind. It has been written to assist the County Council's duty to investigate and nothing more.

The summary of the responses to the recent consultation for the Parish Council to borrow to cover some of the costs towards the project to install a pedestrian crossing, has been attached for information.