Mablethorpe and Sutton Town Council

Latest information on Coronavirus help and contact details:-

Coronavirus: What you need to do

The latest information from national government in relation to the Coronavirus outbreak:


Coronavirus: Community help and volunteering

If you are a member of the community that requires support you can request help online at: or dial 01522 782189 for assistance


You can also volunteer to help on Lincolnshire County Council's website at: or by calling 01522 782189.

Following a meeting of the Town Council held on 16th March 2020 the following statement is issued: “The Town Council recognises and agrees that no business, meeting, service provision or service delivery of the Authority is of any importance above that of public and personal safety. As such, all scheduled public meetings will be cancelled for an initial 4 month period (or as circumstances dictate)”.

Mablethorpe & Sutton Town Council was formed in 1974 following the unitary re-organisation of Local Government in England. 

The Council adopted the title of 'Town Council' at its formation, however, its responsibilities and powers are identical to those as a Parish Council. 
The Parish is made up of the communities of Mablethorpe, Sutton-on-Sea, Trusthorpe and Sandilands. 

All Parish & Town Council's operate using POWERS and DUTIES. 

Duties are mandatory functions or procedures a Council MUST carry out by law. 
Powers MAY be used by Council's to deliver services and carry out activities. 

The Council is made up of 19 Councillors representing seven wards in the area with all wards having three Councillors, except for Highgate Lane ward which has one Councillor.  The full Town Council meets monthly (apart from August) and in addition there are two standing committees (Administration & Planning) with responsibilities for the Town Council’s day to day functions.  

Meetings are usually held on Monday evenings at 7.00 p.m. in the Community Room, Mablethorpe Library and Community Access Point, Stanley Avenue, Mablethorpe, LN12 1DP.  Members of the public are welcome and encouraged to attend all meetings of the Town Council and provision is made at all meetings for public participation.

The Town Council was successful in attaining the Quality Award in 2015; the first Council in Lincolnshire to achieve this national accreditation and it is with pleasure that the Town Council announces it has attained the Quality Gold Award, again being the first Council in Lincolnshire to achieve this national award and one of only 19 across the country. 

This award proves that the Council is at the forefront of best practice by achieving an excellent standard in community governance, community leadership and performance management. For further details please see 'Quality Gold Award Process' and application on the Town Council web-site.

In May each year, the Council elects a serving Councillor to become the Chairman of the Council and to hold the office of “Town Mayor”.

Mayor 2019/20 Municipal Year

At the meeting of the Town Council held on Monday 20th May 2019  the following appointment of Mayor and mayoress as identified below were made:

Chairman / Town Mayor - Councillor Carl Tebbutt

Consort - Cllr Ms Helen Parkhurst

The Mayor's nominated charities for 2019 - 2020 are The Men's Shed, Mablethorpe and the Meridale Youth Club, Sutton on Sea.  

If you wish the Mayor to attend any function within the parish, please contact the Town Clerk's office on 01507 613 644 or email the Town Clerk: 

Please review the 'Events Calendar' for details of events being held in the area and parish information.


To keep up to date with Lincolnshire County Council and East Lindsey District Council matters, check the County & District page on this web site, or follow the links page to go to their sites direct.