Town Council

Councillor John Matthews (Town Mayor)

Photo by Town Clerk

Councillor John Matthews (Town Mayor)

Market Rasen Town Council, (MRTC), consists of 12 people who volunteer their services in order to carry out the duties of the council. Areas of ongoing responsibility include:

Festival Hall
Old Police Station
Market Place
Playing Fields
Village Green

MRTC meets on a monthly basis, usually the first Wednesday of the month, in the Festival Hall Committee room at 7.00pm. Members of the public who wish to be involved or have any issues they would like to raise are welcome to attend the meetings and are given a chance to voice their concerns. Although MRTC is subject to West Lindsey District Council regulations and initiatives, who, in turn, are subject to Lincolnshire County Council regulations and initiatives, the Town Council attempt to action public concerns or ensure they are forwarded to the next level of government.

Town Surgery

The Surgery will be held on the first Saturday of every month between 10.00am and 12.00midday on the Market Place, Market Rasen. This is a chance to put any queries or questions to one of your Town Councillors who will try and help answer or deal with your enquiry. 

7th  January 2017      1st July 2017

4th  February 2017          5th August 2017

4th March 20167       2nd September 2017

1st April 2017       7th October 2017

6th May 2017       4th  November 2017

3rd  June 2017                  2nd December 2017

MARKET RASEN TOWN COUNCIL                                              COUNCILLOR LIST (12 MEMBERS)

September 2017

Councillor John Matthews (Town Mayor)

Councillor Martin Harvey

Councillor Stephen Bunney (Deputy Mayor)

Councillor Ken Bridger

Councillor Margaret Lakin-Whitworth

Councillor Jennifer Bone


Councillor Cathryn Turner

Councillor Aidan Johnson


Councillor Thomas Smith

Councillor Michael Kenning