Church groups

Parochial Church Council, Friends of Wrangle Church, Methodist Church Stewards, Mothers Union

Parochial Church Council of St Mary and St Nicholas

The Parochial Church Council (PCC) has responsibilities not only to the regular congregation, but to all the people living in the parish. It has 19 members, including 2 Church Wardens, a Treasurer, and a Secretary. One member serves on the Deanery Synod. Another runs a special fund-raising project to renovate a rare and distinctive alabaster memorial (the Reed Memorial) in the chancel.

The PCC organises special fund-raising events to help pay for the upkeep of the church, such as  Saturday coffee mornings, harvest suppers, car boot sales and the triennial flower festival.

Revd Fiona Cotton-Betteridge, 01754 820104

Chairman and Churchwarden
      Geoff Barnett, 01205 839483
      Robin Sands, 01205 878886
      Jean Dickinson     
      Pearl Danby, 01205 870613
Captain of Bells
      Mike Bainbridge, 01754 820851
Deanery Synod Representative
      Chris Bowles, 01205 870242
Reed Memorial Project
      Jeannette Ellwood, 01205 871683
      Elaine Taylor, 01205 870160

Friends of Wrangle Church

Photograph of wrangle church interiorPhoto by Pemser

The Friends of Wrangle Church is a local group dedicated to raising funds for the upkeep and repair of the fabric of Wrangle Church for the good of the village as a whole. Formed in 2002, its past activities have enabled the protection of all the significant stained glass windows with mesh. New members are always welcome.

The main current project is restoration of the Reed Memorial, an alabaster tomb in the chancel.

Fund-raising activities and protection measures are organized by a small committee:

George Danby, 01205 870613
Fred Skennerton, 01205 870853
Alva Skennerton, 01205 870853
Pearl Danby, 01205 870613 

Jean Leggate, Betty Parker

Old Leake With Wrangle Methodist Church Stewards

The present Chapel Stewards are:
Tony Atkinson, 01205 870490
Dave Titchiner, 01205 871850

Mavis Martin, Ray Robinson, Christopher Stutely-Brown, Valerie Titchiner