East Stockwith

Welcome to East Stockwith

The name derives from the Old English stocc+hyth, meaning "landing-place made of logs". It appears as Stochithe in the 12th century.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].

Daniel Defoe in letters relating his travels says “hoys, lighters, barges, or flat-bottom'd vessels, comes to a place called Stockwith.’  Whether the great man ever stayed in Stockwith is not known but he certainly passed through.

The village itself has several ‘streets’ with Front Street running alongside the Trent – a testament to how important the river was to the village.  There is also a public house – The Ferry House – from where ferries ran across the river to the village of West Stockwith.

In 1795, the commons and open fields were enclosed. About 25 acres

Church view

 were set aside to generate rental revenue for poor relief.

In 1801 the population was 161 and rose steadily through the 19th century, in 1891 being recorded as 497.  This was due to the ‘hayday’ of the canal and river systems when Gainsborough was one of the busiest ports with constant river traffic passing by East Stockwith.  The present population is just over 200.

This idyllic Lincolnshire village has a Church – St Peter’s – consecrated on 6 July 1846, restored in 1899 and seats about 220.  In 2008 an earthquake and high winds brought the steeple crashing down onto the altar.  However repairs have now been carried out and the Church has been restored.